Dream

The other night
I had a dream
it was not the first.
I dreamed of an alternative
universe.

News Barkers shouted that
I’d been made king for a day.
The Press came a callin’
asking me
what I had to say.

I said stand back
hear me loud and clear
put up your potions,
your weed and your beer.

Now since you all
have made me
king for a day,
lock and load
if you want to
or knell down and pray.

Whichever you do,
decide to leave or stay,
I’m comin’ strapped
to take your guns away.

About circusinpurgatory
Nick Masesso Jr’s fictionalized short stories, poetry and prose have been published in the Starry Night Review, Elegant Thorn Review, Language and Culture.net and Vagabond Press; the Battered Suitcase. His latest book “Armor of Innocence” and first book “Walking the Midway in Purgatory, a Journal” are available on-line and through bookstores.

3 Responses to Dream

  1. Best poem yet, albeit prejudicial cause I’m a lyricist, can’t change DNA, poems or songs should ALWAYS rhyme. Like your stuff, sure would appreciate you chipping away at my novel. Best success, bra ~

    • Remind me this winter when I can’t go outside or risk freezing my nuts off; as I plan on using still them, and I’ll give your novel a whirl.

  2. Glad you approve…

Leave a Reply

