Who Murdered Michael Brown

“Where there is darkness crimes will be committed. The guilty one is not merely he who commits the crime but he who caused the darkness.” – Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

Who murdered Michael Brown?
Who sent the bullets that laid him down?
It wasn’t us said racism and poverty
It wasn’t us made him angry
It wasn’t us that made him fall
No; you can’t blame us at all.

Who murdered Michael Brown?
Who sent the bullets that laid him down?
Not me said the light in the loafers cop
spawn of Pee Wee Herman and Carrot Top.
A sniveling, lying, cowardly prick
trying to extend his three-inch dick.
With a story so unbelievable
it couldn’t be believed as a fantasy novel.

I could have shot him in the foot
that would have been all it took
but then he’d be allowed to trip
and tell everyone how I flipped.

He tried to take my gun from me
I was rat-trapped and couldn’t flee
He ran I chased and put him down
pumped your tax paid for bullets into his crown

Why you want to blame me for?
Did just what you pay me for
To keep the fear from your door
It’s just what I’m suppose to do
you’d do the same; wouldn’t you?
It wasn’t me that made him fall
No; you can’t blame me at all.

He came like a crazed Mandingo demon right for me
Full of your bullets he charged big as a tree
His stare gave me a knock-y knee
I was so scared I had to pee

He had one hand in his waistband
The other in a fist
so I put him down in a bursting cloud of red-pink mist
He did it to himself you all
It wasn’t me that made him fall
No, you can’t blame me at all

The cops and firemen said we’ll make em’ pay
Like they did after Rodney King in L.A.
Let them burn down their own domicile
We’ll protect the rich folks turf sit back and smile.
it wasn’t us that killed the boy
It wasn’t us that made him fall
No; you can’t blame us at all.

It wasn’t me said the prosecuting attorney
who lead the grand jury right where he wanted them to go
in his element; in his flow.
It’s too bad he had to go
But there was a pressure on me too, you know
It wasn’t me that made him fall
No; you can’t blame me at all.

Not we said the vampire media tools
Who don gas masks looking like fools
who profit from leads that bleed
and feed the fat cats bosses filthy greed.
It wasn’t us that made him fall
No, you can’t blame us at all

It wasn’t us said the pious clergy
In starched white collars custom-made
Follow us in prayer and trade
your riotous anger for our clown parade
Don’t say ‘murder,’ don’t say ‘kill’
It was destiny, it was God’s will”
it wasn’t us that made him fall
No, you can’t blame us at all

It open season now on young unarmed black men
all you need is a badge and a pen
to write he charged me, went for my gun
and like they always do;
put their hands in their waistbands and run
We’ll say he was just another crazy nigger
we had no choice but to pull the trigger.

The heartbroken people marching in the street
will try to download all their grief
wondering if tomorrow their sons
will have to themselves defend
worrying if it’ll ever end.

While the harder ones all full up
of hopelessness and broken luck
will strike a match and shoot; Kapow!
Then ask the powers; can you hear us now?

About circusinpurgatory
Nick Masesso Jr’s fictionalized short stories, poetry and prose have been published in the Starry Night Review, Elegant Thorn Review, Language and Culture.net and Vagabond Press; the Battered Suitcase. His latest book “Armor of Innocence” and first book “Walking the Midway in Purgatory, a Journal” are available on-line and through bookstores.

3 Responses to Who Murdered Michael Brown

  1. Nice.

    • Thanks.

  2. James Mcfarland says:

    Racy but not my bag, love the passion and rhyme

Leave a Reply

