New Earth Project

“We are star-dust. We are golden. And we’ve got to get ourselves back to the garden”. – Woodstock – Joni Mitchell

An urgent transmission arrived from the Mother Starship this morning, words and film announcing a new Atlantis being born, a fresh beginning to match a newborn year http://www.new-earth-project.org/, unfolding the full-out vision of collectives dream-spawned from Commune’s founded three decades ago; where sun-drenched seaside beaches in far away idyllic paradise beckon future-blossoming pioneers.

These visions warm my soul and bring forth an oasis from the tortured and cynical poets invested in the Sylvia Plath Effect that bleed from magnifying the minutia of their own lives; their dark valleys holding deep shadows surrounded by mountains on all sides too high to scale.

The news rescues me and sparks a fire in my heart that illuminates my path forward; a respite as well from the environs that surround me; where suicide can be accomplished by just walking outside where you won’t be found until May when the birdwatchers smell you rotting; transformed from a meat-Popsicle to a defrosted human-being roast.

Not long ago outside my writing window a yellow sun blasted through the cotton-candy clouds and powder blue sky settling on a whale blue lake surrounded by green; now, Vincent’s palette paints skies of blue and grey pressing down a pure white snow-covered lake surrounded by dark stands of trees that look like mountains.

Noisy snowmobiles pull sleds filled with tents and provision, lines and hooks to fortify and amuse tiny fat men who spend the day shivering. There were six of them earlier; now at three o’clock in the afternoon and the temperature at its nadir, soon to begin its decent to minus 16 degrees, the rest, true ice-men, stay; some say they’ll be there all night.

About circusinpurgatory
Nick Masesso Jr’s fictionalized short stories, poetry and prose have been published in the Starry Night Review, Elegant Thorn Review, Language and Culture.net and Vagabond Press; the Battered Suitcase. His latest book “Armor of Innocence” and first book “Walking the Midway in Purgatory, a Journal” are available on-line and through bookstores.

3 Responses to New Earth Project

  1. Jeff Lohrmann says:

    Your a great guy Nick. Being alone in the north country has really made you stand out.

  2. I’ve just started looking over the New Earth Project and, as was my first reaction to your comment at my site, it seems to have a lot in common with the Venus Project.

    However, VP has always seemed to be stuck in the planning stage whereas NEP looks like it’s ready to become something real.

    From looking at the questions for the registration process, I don’t really see that I’d be much of an asset to the project.

    I’m a high school dropout with a GED and I’ve been a blue collar labourer all my Life and, at 66, I’m not even very useful for manual labour anymore.

    Nevertheless, I’m going to study whatever information is available on the site, register and download whatever the download may be.

    I like the look of Costa Rica myself. It has the added value of not being owned by america, I think.

    I also looked up the binishells. Fascinating. I’ll be taking some time studying that as well.

    Thanks for the tip on this Nick. I don’t know where it will lead, but I’m grateful for the heads-up.

  3. James Mcfarland says:

    8.8= very descriptive, good show, reader formulates images … where? IN THE MIND’s EYE! Grammar notes : First sentence in Para 2 runs on, try reading in aloud, gasping, no air. Semicolons missed. Not being picky, professional, here at Myriad Unlimited LLC, your friend and fellow falcon… always.

Leave a Reply

