Soft-Nosed Bullet

“My country, right or wrong; if right, to be kept right; and if wrong, to be set right.” Carl Christian Schurz

America is an idea, an experiment. She does not belong to anyone just because they happen to have been born here. The recent fascination with deportation of those the fear-filled well armed cadres disagree with is a virus with a pustule on her spine that left to fester will burst and cover us all with puss.

Nationalism, the refuge of skinheads, bigots and fascists teaches two primary things; to hate people you have never met and to take credit for things you had nothing to do with. I’m often emailed so-called jokes about the darker people and others not of American ancestry being the only ones on the streets during the day. The “joke” is supposed to be that all the white Americans are at work. I’m sure that Lincoln Rockwell acolytes and the Grand Wizards of the Ku Klux Klan and their ilk find this affirming and funny. I ask where the joke is.

In November 1963 flyers circulated in the streets of Dallas, Texas with the word Traitor boldly emblazoned on the header over a photo of JFK just days before my fellow Americans blew him and us all back in time. There are two wolves fighting in everyman’s heart, love and hate. The one that is feed the most wins.

#JFK #Nationalism #skinheads #Lincolnrockwell #My country, right or wrong #Ku Klux Klan #Deportation

About circusinpurgatory
Nick Masesso Jr’s fictionalized short stories, poetry and prose have been published in the Starry Night Review, Elegant Thorn Review, Language and Culture.net and Vagabond Press; the Battered Suitcase. His latest book “Armor of Innocence” and first book “Walking the Midway in Purgatory, a Journal” are available on-line and through bookstores.

6 Responses to Soft-Nosed Bullet

  1. I think the experiment has failed.

    Just another male dominated hierarchy trying to disguise itself as unique and “exceptional”.

    “You can put a cat in an oven, but that don’t make it a biscuit.”
    Wesely Snipes, White Men Can’t Jump

    • If you don’t mind me asking, how is obama “the new JFK” and what do you think we can expect as a result of his “success”?

      I’m just curious.

      Will he actually even try to bring the promised “change” he promised and we want so badly?
      Will he end our wars of aggression and the illegal invasions and occupations we’re engaged in?
      Will he get single payer medicare for all?
      Will he close guantanamo?
      Will he get citizens united overturned?
      Will he restore habeas corpus and the posse comitatus act?
      Will he stop prosecuting whistle-blowers and military personnel for doing the right thing?
      Will he prevent the imposition of “austerity measures” designed to drive what remains of the middle class into abject poverty?
      Will he end the flood of upward redistribution of wealth to the richest .01%?
      Will he undo the 2012 NDAA?
      Will he put a halt to the destruction of the social safety net and denounce the lie that social security and medicare are responsible for the deficit?
      Will he end the shredding of the constitution and the onslaught of neofascism that is swiftly engulfing the country?
      I could go on.

      I’m 66 years old and a Woodstock alumnus. I am a seed of the sixties in that sense.

      I don’t have any “premium” channels. Can barely afford basic and rarely watch TV anyway. The only reason I have cable at all is so my father, who is 89 and in my care, can watch the sports programming he enjoys.

      I’ll take a look at Seeds of the Sixties.

      And about JFK;

      “Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable.”
      President John F. Kennedy

      • I’m sorry I can’t share your apparent optimism for barry. I confess I did vote for him the first time. I could have voted my conscience and it wouldn’t have made any difference in the outcome and I wouldn’t now feel such a dupe.

        As to “yes we can, it seems to me that the people of america have made it pretty clear that the majority want most of those things in my short list taken care of yesterday.

        Frankly I think any demands made by the american people are now falling upon totally deaf ears. This ostensible government no longer even pretends to give a rat’s ass what the people they were elected to serve want.

        It’s a charade put on by a performing troupe bought and paid for by bankers and corporatists with obama in the lead role.

        http://chimaeraimaginarium.wordpress.com/2012/11/08/dont-get-fooled-again-ooops-too-late/

        Or if tragicomedy is more to your liking;
        http://chimaeraimaginarium.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/hail-to-the-chief/

        Thank you most sincerely for the offer on the book but I’m not at all keen on audiobooks. I have a rather large PDF research library, over 8 gigs. Having my books in PDF format makes it so quick and easy to search for specific terms or phrases.

        I’ll be visiting your blog again soon to dig a little deeper and hopefully further my endless education.

        Anon

      • Well Nick, it looks like we’re more in agreement than not and I’m glad of it. Where we diverge, I think we can simply agree to disagree and let it go.

        I’m particularly heartened by your attitude regarding “hope”. Agree completely.

        Now about the book. When I saw “oral history”, I thought it was meant literally. So, if you’ve got it in txt, doc, docx or pdf, I’m certainly not gonna turn down a freebie, if that’s what you’ve got in mind.

        If I need to buy it, I can just go to Amazon, if and when I can afford it.

        By the way, if you’re ever looking for some illustrations, check out my gallery site and help yourself to whatever you like. I have real problem with capitalism and try to practice what I preach.
        I wouldn’t mind being credited for the work if you use any but I don’t demand it. I’ll add stuff occasionally so check back now and then; http://chimaeraimaginariumgallery.wordpress.com/

        Anon
        Richard

  2. James Mcfarland says:

    7.2 rating. Substance is fantastic, editing/writing form reduces potency of piece. One misspelled word, no big deal, but spell check doesn’t replaced ‘correctly typed words’ that mistaken were inserted in place of a correct word. Also, a few clunky sentences, ebb and flow and style is marred in the mud. Recommend reading out loud to yourself, that’s what I said about “pulling back”, not being too deep inside your skull. When you read aloud, how do you breathe? Do you gasp for air? Or ramble getting short of breathe? This is an indication of thick, dense writing or lack of commas, very important, my brother, to help nurse reader who try to follow powerful sentences…. I may have asked you this before: Do you pay an editor before you print this? AND a proof reader to reconstruct/critique these sentences?

    Separate, unrelated note : Side Bar, Your Honor…
    I really dig some of your strong political views, but you didn’t vote for Obama? Cop and say ‘he’s gonna win anyway? Were we so sure about Wisconsin? Okay, freedom of choice, but conviction doesn’t match ‘oh well’..
    Anyway, really appreciate stuff you send. As Zeppelin says : Whole Lotta Love, my brother

  3. Reblogged this on Nick Masesso, Jr..

Leave a Reply

